Product Review

Product Review: L’Oreal’s Magic Skin Beautifier B.B. Cream in Medium

PRICE: FIVE STARS

L’Oreal has always been good about providing its patrons with coupons – which  makes this product very affordable. It retails for $7.96 at my local Walmart and L’Oreal had a $2 coupon that I used so I only paid a total of $5.96 (taxes not included) for this product. Not bad, huh? Pretty darn affordable.

QUALITY: TWO STARS

Pros:

  • The product starts out green when you initially squeeze it out of the tube – so it also acts as a color corrector, if I’m not mistaken.
  • The color contours/matches your skin and the product itself is easy to work with.
  • It does what BB creams are supposed to do – it blots away minor imperfections on your skin and makes pores appear smaller.

Cons:

  • This cream has tiny beads that are supposed to help exfoliate and beautify the skin.  However, my face does not respond well to products with “exfoliating ingredients” so I had a major breakout after using this product a couple of times. I wasn’t very happy about that.
  • My t-zones are VERY oily (they should be called oil spill zones….no, really) but the sides of my face are extremely dry.  I bought L’Oreal’s Magic Skin BB Cream because it claims that it’s supposed to act as a hydrating product that is suitable for combination skins. It didn’t work for me though…and after all was said and done, all I was left with were battle scars – aka zits.
  • I have extremely dry skin on certain spots, so I use moisturizers formulated for sensitive skin before putting any kind of makeup on. I was determined to make this BB Cream work, obviously – so I decided to use it with my favorite moisturizer from Origins.  *Insert Horror Music Here* Very bad move.  L’Oreal’s BB Cream does not work well with moisturizers. The product always ends up looking weird and caked up when I apply it in conjunction with another moisturizer. Let’s not even talk about applying it on the eye area – that’s a whole ‘nother horror story in itself.

WOULD I PURCHASE THIS PRODUCT AGAIN?

If I wanted to be the official endorser of “ProActiv” in my area complete with “before and after” shots – then I guess I would continually use this product.  Kidding aside, L’Oreal has a lot of good products that I’ve used before…but this “Skin Beautifier BB Cream” just doesn’t do it for me. If anything…it had me stressed out because my skin reacted violently to it and I had a major breakout that took forever to go away.  I guess I’ll stick to my old reliable “cleanse-tone-primer-foundation” routine for now. ..and no, I will not buy this particular product again.

DISCLAIMER:

I’m not a makeup artist or cosmetic expert. I’m just a regular consumer and I appreciate honest feedback about products that regular people like me use on a daily basis or consider buying. That is why I am paying it forward and giving reviews/opinions of my own on products that I have bought and used. My views and opinions are from a customer/end user’s standpoint.

7 thoughts on “Product Review: L’Oreal’s Magic Skin Beautifier B.B. Cream in Medium

    1. We are on the same boat, Melanie. *sigh* Have you tried Missha?! They say the asian BB creams are the best…but I am so traumatized by my most recent experience and I don’t even know if I want to experiment on another BB cream. Lol.

  1. Great review. Thank you so much. I only tried Korean bb cream and I really love it. If you have pale skin I would really recommend Lioele triple the solution bb cream because that’s what I got and it works great for my skin (I also have oily T zone and dry on the sides)
    ^^ thank you so much for this review

    1. Oooh…I gotta try your recommendation out. I am still looking for a BB cream that will play nice with my skin. Maybe the asian brands will work – coz I’m mostly asian. Lol! ❤ Thank you so much for the blog support! You're such a sweetheart! ❤

Leave a comment